My first week of chemotherapy was very... scheduled. My mom typed up a schedule and taped it to my computer so that when I woke up in the morning, I could follow it.
1. Wake up on empty stomach
2. Take Kytril (anti-nausea med)
3. Wait or go back to sleep for 30 minutes
4. Take Tremodar (chemo med)
5. Wait or go back to sleep for 1 hour
6. Eat, take other medications, etc.
Surprisingly, I was very good at remembering the schedule every morning. And yes, I was lucky and somehow managed to get pill chemo. And hey- if you have to have chemo, this is the way to go.
Days 1 - 3 were easy-peasy. I spent most of my time at the Ray (family)'s house hanging out with the kids in the family. Their daughter Kristina was about to head back to college, so I spent as much time as possible there. They thought it was funny how good I was feeling and they would make jokes, but I was thinking "Hey... I lucked out! Pill chemo, and no side effects?! Holla!"
Then I woke up morning of Day 4, and I felt like crap. I was nauseous and tired and just felt awful. I felt sick all day, and that continued day 5. Those side effects even carried over to the first day after chemo. It was no fun because I was hungry, but I couldn't really eat anything.
Since then, I have been feeling pretty good, just hungry. As I try to explain it, it's like you literally feel full but you're starving. Confusing? Welcome to my life.
No comments:
Post a Comment